Snow Reporter Life

Good morning Schweitzer Fans, and thanks for calling the Schweitzer Mountain Snow phone….I mean thanks for reading the Schweitzer Mountain blog! Sometimes it’s hard to turn that snow reporter mentality off; I often have to stop myself from saying “thanks for calling the Schweitzer Mountain snow phone, have a great day!” every time I’m talking to someone during the rest of my work hours. (For those of you who didn’t know, I actually work for the Sales & Marketing department here; yes that’s right, I am so much more than just a snow reporter and blog writer).

As this season winds to a close, I find myself reflecting on my time as an early-morning snow reporter. While I have previously filled the 9am-3pm snow report spots, this was my first year braving the pre-crack of dawn hours to preach the good news. I must say, it’s a very interesting experience to be up here that early. Sometimes it’s kind of creepy, being the only one in the building. Even the drive up is kind of eerie, which is why I always play my music at full blast on my way up the mountain. It scares off homicidal maniacs, bears, hipsters, wandering deer, etc. It’s a safety mechanism. Really.

This morning’s report was nothing out of the usual. With completely clear skies and no winds, there’s really nothing too hectic going on! It was a great morning to just relax and muse, which are two of my best talents. I got to thinking more about snow reporting, and wondering just how much the general public knows about what goes into it. Now I don’t want to give away any trade secrets here, but in general it involves a lot of typing, phone calls and wandering around the village staring at the dark sky, trying to figure out if it’s clear, cloudy, partly cloudy, high clouds, wispy clouds, fluffy clouds, etc. And trust me, that’s harder than it sounds. It is DARK up here in the mornings. I’ve heard one or two complaints before, things like “you don’t say enough about the weather in the 5am phone update”. That’s because it’s DARK dude. Beyond snowing, not snowing, windy, not windy, clear or probably cloudy it can be hard to tell!

And the sunrises. Oh, the sunrises, Schweitzer Fans. They are one of the best things about being up on the mountain so early. On a clear morning like today, the colors as the sun comes up over the mountains and lake are indescribable. (See picture below!) I can seriously recommend getting up here before the sunrise at least once during the season. You will not regret it! There’s a definite serenity to those early morning hours.

I hope you all have had a great season thus far, Schweitzer Fans! And don’t worry I’m not signing off quite yet; I’ll bust out a few more sensational blogs before the season is over. I’m just preparing you for the inevitable!

PS-Still love my Zags!

 

Katie Ross

2 Responses to “Snow Reporter Life”


  1. 1 Derik March 26, 2013 at 4:28 am

    Wow! You’re are a very talented writer…I must say I am impressed!!!! (just a little…don’t want it to go to your head or anything…)

  2. 2 www.amazon.com/Phytoceramides-Dermatologist-Recommended-Convenient-Supplement/dp/B00HJCC9BA June 5, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your
    website and in accession capital to say that
    I get in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts. Any way I will be subscribing in your feeds and even I fulfillment you access consistently quickly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

